Dogs for sale!!

Standard

Here at the Kees household, we have two dogs.  One is a black lab, Jake, and the other is a Dachshund, Ginger.  Ginger is mostly an inside dog, but a real hunter at heart.  Jake is mostly an outside dog, but a real baby at heart.  Go figure!  Yesterday, after I had gotten the house clean, twice did my husband open the french doors off the living room to tell me something and Jake ran in the house.  It had just started raining and Jake had managed to escape from his pen.  The first time he jumped up on our tan, cloth sectional.  My husband quickly grabbed him up and ran outside.  He knew they both were in trouble.  (LOL)  I was not so happy to say the least, but I cleaned the couch and luckily all the mud came out.  The rain slacked up so my husband went back to the work he was doing in the yard.  After a little while he came to the door again to have me put his wedding ring so he wouldn’t lose it while working.  About that time, Jake ran past his legs, through the living room and into the kitchen….mud and all.  So, off ran my husband in his muddy boots, through the living room and into the kitchen where proceeded to dive after the dog, falling on his face and missing the dog.  He nor the dog were able to get much traction with all the mud.  As they rounded the corner toward the dining room, my husband took another dive, again missing the dog.  I, at this time, was patiently waiting between the living room and foyer for Jake to make his appearance.  I was furious!  As he came around the corner, I threw him toward the living room doors, rushed over to open the door, and picked up the dog and threw him out.  My husband did not make a sound.  I turned to walk into the kitchen and there I saw the HUGE, muddy mess.  I think about this time my head levitated off my shoulders, started spinning, and smoke came out.  Okay, so maybe not really, but I’m sure that is what it looked like to my husband.  I immediately started yelling something about getting rid of the dog THAT day.  My husband nodded his head, and walked outside, without speaking a word.  I was so mad, my heart was racing and I couldn’t even think straight.  I went straight into our bathroom and cried.  After about five  minutes of crying I washed my face and faced the mess.  I wiped up the mud from the floors, swept, and mopped.  I was not happy, but what else was I going to do.  If that isn’t enough for you, this morning at some point after we left for church, Ginger, who usually stays in the laundry room while we are gone, got lose in the house.  We did a frantic search in the house looking for her.  She was not anywhere!  Finally, my daughter heard her crying.  She had managed to shut herself in my daughter’s room.  When my husband opened the bedroom door, I could immediately smell it…poop!  She had pooped all over the floor, on a blanket, toys, and a stuffed animal.  She had tracked it everywhere!  Once again I was not happy!  As a mother, I can deal with a lot of nasty, but I do NOT do dog poop!  My wonderful husband cleaned it up, deodorized, lysoled  the place, and mopped the floor.  It was pretty nasty, so I am very thankful that he did that for me.  So needless to say, after this weekend of events, I was ready to sell the dogs.  Even my daughter agreed with me!  (LOL)  However, I don’t think we will be getting rid of them anytime soon.  If we do, it will be Jake simply because my husband doesn’t have the time for him.  I guess pets can be a lot like kids, even though they do really nasty, bad things…we still care for them…and don’t get rid of them (LOL).

As strange as it may seem, I think there was lesson in this weekend’s events.  It was a way for God to show me that having a clean and neat house is not always the priority, and I should not find my self-worth in that.  That was a hard lesson for me, but I got it!  God knows me too well!  He knew it would take a tough lesson to teach an OCD, control-freak like me something so important.  I encourage you to try to find the lesson in the day-to-day struggles…even when you are really mad, and it’s really hard.

Thanks for reading and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

