Growing Pains

Standard
Pumpkin Picking
Pumpkin Picking

It simply amazes me how quickly children grow.  It seems like just yesterday that my little Riley Grace was making her way into this world.  However, that was over two years ago now.  As I look back and reflect on that day, I realize that she never was much of a baby.  Just hours after she was born she was holding up her head and looking around.  That was a big glimpse into the personality that she would come to develop.  She is curious, independent, mature, stubborn, and a very loving child.  Those are all qualities that she exhibited at that very moment in time.  Sometimes it is easy for me to forget that she is only two years old, and not older.  She acts so “grownie” as my grandmother puts it, that it is so easy to treat her as if she carries the maturity of a four or five year old.  For instance, notice the picture to the right; if that isn’t deep, serious thought, I don’t know what is.  We visited a local pumpkin patch this past Saturday afternoon.  I told her that she could pick one big pumpkin and one little pumpkin.  She took this very seriously, and carefully considered each and every pumpkin out there.  She touched them, tried to move them, everything she could to help in her decision.  Of course by the end she had made her decision, and not once questioned that choice.  The capability of the child leaves me in awe each and every day.  They grow up in a blink of an eye, and their little brains soak up everything.  I’m so use to her acting so grown up, that at times when she does experience one of those two year old melt-downs, I tend to get upset with her about her behavior.  However, I quickly come to the realization that no matter how old she acts, she is still only two.  (Thank the Lord!)  I don’t believe that I could handle her growing up any faster than she already is.  It makes me sad to think that in a mere two years she will be taking on the new experience of going to school.  Over the last couple of years I have really learned how important it is for us to cherish the time we have with our children, no matter what their age may be.  It is equally important that we strive each day to teach them all we can because we only get them for a few short years of their lives.  I would hate to look back on her 18th birthday and wish that I had taught her more, or told her “I love you” just a little more.  Every day is a gift, and we should take full advantage of it.

About pinkleo

I am 24 years old, and blessed beyond measure by an amazing God. I have an incredible husband, Justin, and a daughter. We love the life God has given us, and strive to encourage others daily.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

