A New Discovery

Standard

easter-events-2009-and-zoo-126So this bloggin thing is a new adventure for me.  An adventure I believe that I am sure to enjoy.  I live with my family in Monroe, Louisiana.  We have a pretty great zoo around her, which I have taken my daughter to three or four times probably.  (That’s a pic of our most recent visit there to the left.)  As many times I have been, I have never taken the boat ride.  Our zoo does boat rides, horse rides for the kids, and a wagon ride (i think).  We have never done any of the three until our last trip.  My husband (Justin) thought we should take our daughter (Riley Grace) on the boat ride.  She loves water!  So we sent daddy up to the ticket window to buy us some tickets.  It was only like $6 I think.  Riley Grace is only 2 so she gets to do everything for free still.  (Oh to be 2 again!)  So off we went to our boat ride!  I have to say that it was GREAT!  Each boat ride lasts approximately 30 minutes.  I never knew it, but in order to see ALL of the animals that zoo has to offer, you have to take the boat ride.  They have these little islands with animals on them, and all sorts of other things that you don’t get to see otherwise.  We had the best time!  Riley Grace loved it of course!  She kept yelling, “WATER…WATER…WATER!!”  I would def. recommend it to anyone…it is a MUST!  The only down side to the zoo here in Monroe is that many of the animals are not in area anything like their natural habitats, and many of those areas are way too small for them.  As wonderful as it was to see all of those animals, I felt bad for them.  I began wondering is our enjoyment of looking at these animals worth the price that they are having to pay?  I think not.  I do know that some have been saved from the wild and being nursed back to health, but for those others…it is a sad thing.  They will spend most of their lives, if not all of their lives behind a glass with plastic branches for them to climb on.  And don’t get me wrong, not every exhibit has this issue, only a few.  However, I think we can all live without those few wich are inadequate for the animals which inhabit them.

Leave a Reply

